Slow learner

I am a slow learner.

Two years ago, after 48 years as a believing Christian, I began to understand what the apostle Paul meant when he said: “I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me.” (Gal. 2:20)

I am still plumbing the depths of that phrase. I have read scripture and books and meditated on it and yet there is more for me to grasp.

It is an astonishing statement. Paul is saying his old self – the very core of his being – has died and it has been replaced by Jesus Christ.

You might say that Paul has gone too far. Jesus Christ has replaced my inner being? How can that be?

What I believe he is saying is that I underwent a personality change when Christ entered my life. Christ is taking control of me.

But the big question is: How does that square with what I see happening in my life? There is a lot in my life which is not Christ-like.

Indeed, Paul deals with that issue in Romans 7. He talks about the continuing influence of the flesh – the mental, emotional and physical desires and habits that I have built up over a lifetime. Some of these are bad for me, spiritually, emotionally and physically.

So, what difference does it make to believe that Christ is in control and not me?

A very big difference.  How I think will influence how I act (Matt. 12: 34-35).

Paul speaks about this in the sentence following the one I quoted above: “The life I live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.” (Gal. 2: 20)

What this is telling me is that if I have faith that Jesus really is the new “me”, it will change the way I live.

And that is what I am finding out.  Not quickly – for I am slow by nature.  Yet Jesus is changing the way I think.  And I believe that will change the way I act.

I will come back to this topic again.  I have much more to learn.

This is my first post.  This blog will jump from one thing to another as I think about what Christ is doing in my life and in the life of my family.

2 comments so far

  1. Anne Douglas on

    I have struggled with the exact same issue! Thanks for your beautifully expressed and hopeful post.

  2. Stephanie Douglas on

    Love it!


Leave a Reply

