My job

The apostle Paul says I am a “minister of reconciliation” – that’s my job.

He says in 2 Corinthians 5: 17 -21 that God took the step to reconcile us to himself.  Now, I am to go out as an “ambassador” appealing to people to be reconciled to God.

The great thing about this passage is that God was the one who was offended and yet he takes the initiative to bring peace between him and me.

And now he wants me to tell others about what God has already done to bring peace between himself and us.

It’s all God’s work.

I have to admit I am not good at sharing this message.  I tend to think of all the objections that people will raise.

And yet, someone did share the glory of the gospel with me and I did become a believer.  It is a powerful message.

Perhaps my problem is that I think too much in terms of a “canned” approach – reciting a particular formula for becoming a believer.

When I think of my own conversion, the person who spoke to me about Jesus first noticed that I was interested in English literature.  He got me interested in the Bible as literature and then drew me into studying the gospel of John.

A relative of mine was going through a difficult time and was burdened with guilt.  He read a book by the Christian psychiatrist Paul Tournier called Guilt and Grace and that was one factor on his road to faith.

I have read – or heard – of other conversion stories which are more unusual.  For example, the apostle Paul’s conversion was dramatic – a direct word from God.

Jackie Pullinger, whose ministry in Hong Kong is a modern legend, tells of a number of instances where people had visions of Christ.  They did not understand the full gospel story but God’s Spirit touched them and drew them to himself.

The interesting thing about my conversion and my relative’s is that we were both struggling with life at the time.  And some people came into our lives and shared something.

This is not a new story.  God prepares our hearts and someone cares enough to tell us something from the gospel that will meet our needs.

As Paul says in Romans 10:15: “How beautiful are the feet of those who bring good news.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

