God sings

I am still grappling with an amazing truth – God loves me!

Intellectually, I have known this ever since childhood when I learned the words to the song “Jesus loves me”.  But in my heart I didn’t fully believe it.

But in the last year or so God has opened my eyes to the fact that God loves me to bits.  He loves me even though I grieve him by my sins and mistakes.  He delights in me.

Along these lines, I have been reading a fine book by Sam Storms called The Singing God.  His title is based on Zephaniah 3:17: “. . . He [God] will take great delight in you, he will quiet you with his love, he will rejoice over you with singing.”

Think of that!  He sings over his children the way a mother croons over her infant.  He rejoices in me and you as believers.

We discussed this in our prayer group last night and one of our members noted that so many people in today’s churches suffer from feelings of rejection or hopelessness.

Some feel they don’t measure up to God’s standards – that’s the group I belonged to.  Some have had a tough time in life – rejected by parents or spouses or friends.  Some are just bitter and feel that life has given them a raw deal.

But the passage in Zephaniah and so many others in the Bible show how much God loves us, even when we fail.  This is a message of great hope.

Of course, the best illustration of God’s love is the story of the Prodigal Son which I have referred to before (see Luke 15:11-31).  The father in the story is a picture of God himself who is always eagerly waiting to embrace us even BEFORE we pour out to him our penitent hearts.  We just have to come to him.

Psalm 103 is another fine example of God’s literally boundless love for us.

We finished our prayer group discussion by asking ourselves how to respond to these truths. 

We looked first at Psalm 48:9 where the psalmist speaks of meditating on God’s “unfailing love”.  We can’t do much better than reflecting on how much God loves us.  It lifts our hearts and transforms our minds.

We also turned to Psalm 63:3-5 where David talks of glorifying God “because your love is better than life”.  As we praise God and think of his many benefits, we want to sing to him.  His love for us inspires our love for him.

Knowing that God loves me affects the way I live.

1 comment so far

  1. Robyn on

    Dad, there’s a really good book out there by Brennan Manning called “A stranger to self-hatred.” It was really helpful to me in gaining a deepening “heart sense” of God’s love for me.


Leave a Reply

