In his hands

Have you ever felt that God has you in his hands and won’t let go?

It was a little like that with me just after I became a believer in Jesus Christ.  I was suddenly confused and weary and thinking about renouncing my new-found faith.  Then, I found myself praying in agony of heart to God.  As soon as I prayed, I knew God would not let me go.

There is an old song written by George Matheson that sums up my feelings at that time:

O Love that wilt not let me go,
I rest my weary soul in thee;
I give thee back the life I owe,
That in thine ocean depths its flow
May richer, fuller be.

David speaks of God’s unyielding grip on him in a great psalm – Psalm 139.  It is one of my favourite psalms.

He begins by saying that God knows everything about him – even his thoughts.

Then, he says in verse 5:  “You hem me in  – behind and before; you have laid your hand upon me.”

He goes further in verse 7: “Where can I go from your Spirit?  Where can I flee from your presence?”

The psalmist is trying to get away from God, but he can’t.  He says he can’t even get away from him if he goes far away across the seas or rises “on the wings of the dawn”.  Everywhere he goes, God is there.

All this makes him realize how wonderful it is to belong to God.   He has been trying to run away, but he winds up saying in verse 17: “How precious to me are your thoughts, O God!  How vast is the sum of them!”

He finishes with these great words: “Search me, O God, and know my heart; test me and know my anxious thoughts.  See if there is any offensive way in me, and lead me in the way everlasting.”

It is almost as if David has been desperately attempting to throw God aside and now he is calm and resting contentedly in God’s loving hands.  The path he wanted to take would have led to destruction – certainly spiritual destruction.  But God has held onto him and David is glad.  More than that, he is calling on the Father to lead him in the way everlasting.  His heart is committed to God.

This psalm gives me courage to face whatever comes.  God will keep me.  He will not let me go.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

