Christ’s value to me

Some friends and I were talking last week about how hard it is for Christian converts in some foreign countries.  Sometimes they are beaten and cast out of their families – or worse.

This is particularly true where the family has a strong faith in another religion.  They consider the Christian convert a traitor to their faith.

As we were talking about this, one friend asked why, on the flip side, Western Christians often don’t make more of an issue when their children stray from their faith in Christ.  In effect, he was asking why Christian believers don’t value their faith enough to defend it strongly.  He was not advocating physical force or cutting children off from the family, but for a stronger stand on the faith.

My friend may – or may not – be reading the situation in Canada accurately.  Certainly, I know of some parents who are going through agonies as they see their children abandoning their childhood faith.  Perhaps others are less concerned – I don’t know.

But my friend’s question made me think about how much I value my own faith in Christ.

I am particularly struck by Peter and John’s words to the Sanhedrin after the Jewish leaders commanded them not to teach or talk about Jesus: “We cannot help speaking about what we have seen and heard.” (Acts 4:20)

The apostles were so filled with the wonder of Jesus Christ that they couldn’t help talking about him.  Not even the threat of death could stop them.

Jesus Christ is vital to me.  I can’t live without him.  But, unfortunately, there are other things which catch my attention – and sometimes my mind and heart.

One of these things is my reputation for being level-headed, tolerant, and sensible.  I’m not sure whether people really see me that way, but I strive to give that impression.

In effect, I am so careful about people’s feelings that I shy away from sharing Jesus the way Peter and John did.  Over the years, I have reached out to some people in my family and among the people I know at work or in the neighborhood.  But I tend to be tentative.

That was certainly not the way Peter and John approached the gospel.  It really was good news to them.  They wanted other people to know what they knew.

I agree that not everyone is a Peter or John in personality.  Nor a Paul.

But the question is: Am I so overwhelmed with God’s love for me that I can’t help talking about it with other people?

Jesus said something in the Sermon on the Mount which touches this issue directly.  In Matthew 6, he said we should be storing up our treasures in heaven.  And then he added: “For where your treasure is, there your heart will be also.”  (Matthew 6:21)

In other words, if my heart is filled with Jesus, I will want others to know about him, too.

1 comment so far

  1. Eden on

    I have the same problem with timidity when it comes to telling others about Jesus, and I have asked myself the same questions you put in this post. In Him,

    Eden

    Thorns and Myrtles
    edenellis.wordpress.com


Leave a Reply

