The glory of the Lord

I have been pondering and luxuriating in the wonderful words of the prophet in Isaiah 60:1: “Arise, shine, for your light has come, and the glory of the Lord rises upon you.”

I read these words a few days ago and they stuck with me.  I have smiled every time I thought about them.  They are joyful words, exciting words – words full of hope and promise.

What I see is possibility.  These words can be true of me, of my family, of my church and of my community.  We can see the glory of God.

So, I am beginning to pray these words.  I am asking that God will reveal his glory to me and my family, to my church, and my community.

It is true that Isaiah was speaking of Zion, probably of some future time in Zion.  But, believers are the new Zion so I see it applying to us, as well.

I feel sure that God will not refuse to show us his glory.  But it does mean that some of us, at least, must seek God with as much urgency as Moses did.

God showed his glory in a very obvious way as he led the children of Israel out of Egypt.  He led them with a pillar of cloud during the day and a pillar of fire at night.  And he gave Moses a glimpse of himself – a glimpse he gave no other man.

The result was that Moses had an intimate relationship with the Lord, such an intimate relationship that his face glowed after he had spent time with God in prayer.

How does the Lord show his glory today?

He does it in a variety of ways.  Sometimes it is through miracles of healing.  Sometimes it is simply by overwhelming us with his loving presence.  However he does it, we will know when his glory comes upon us.

I have read that people who have been overcome by the Spirit of God sometimes have to call out to God to stop because they feel that his glory will consume them.  They cannot take so much love.

An interesting point: The prophet says in Isaiah 60:1 that we are to shine as God’s glory comes.  In other words, we are to reflect Jesus to those around us as God graces us with his glorious presence.

How wonderful is this verse!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

