Drinking from God’s river of delights

There is much of the mystic in me.  I long for a deep awareness of God’s presence.

Yet, I am a bit like a blind man trying to find my path.

A group of us were talking last night about what we longed for in prayer.  I said I wanted to experience something of God’s glory.

Over the years, I have felt God’s love and been filled with quiet joy from time to time.  But some of those in the Bible have known God in a much more intimate way.  Moses and David, for example.

The psalmist David sings about delighting in God a number of times.

In Psalm 36:7, he says God’s love is priceless and people find “refuge in the shadow of your wings.”  This suggests to me that we can find comfort and protection in God.

Then, David says that these people “feast on the abundance of your house; you give them drink from your river of delights.”  So, not only do we find peace and comfort, we are given a feast.

What a picture!  For me, I see a big party with people laughing and enjoying good food and drink.  There is joy in the air.   How wonderful to drink from God’s river of delights.

 How can I find this river of delights?

David seems to suggest an answer in Psalm 37.  I have turned often to his words in verses 3 and 4:

“Trust in the Lord and do good; dwell in the land and enjoy safe pasture.  Delight yourself in the Lord and he will give you the desires of your heart.”

This tells me that something is required of me before I can know this joy.  I need to trust that God really has my good at heart.  I need to trust that what he wants is best for me.  I need to obey him –  it isn’t too hard to figure out what that involves.  And I need to “delight” myself in God.

As I give myself to God in this way, he will give me the desires of my heart – and I will know something of his glory.

This makes sense to me.

But I have much to learn.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

