Letting go

When I was in my late teens, I floated with the tide, letting the world take me where it wished.

The results weren’t great.  I enjoyed life at university – to an extent, at least.  I didn’t know where I was going, but life was pleasant.  However, I didn’t attend classes and the inevitable happened – I flunked.

My father and I had a heart-to-heart talk.  He said I was on my own and I had to find work.  He suggested I take a university course and try to get back into the university full-time the following year.

That year – the year I was out of university – I found Christ.  That changed my life.

I passed a university course and returned to school full-time.  This time, I was a different man.  I knew life had a purpose and the purpose was following God.  I also wanted to work hard.

Eventually, I got through university and began a career in journalism.  From then on, I was obsessed with doing a good job.  I prepared for everything thoroughly and tried to cover all the bases in every story or project I undertook.  I feared failure.

Looking back, I realize I became a control freak in my career.  Although I was a believer, I did not fully surrender my concerns to Jesus.  I worried them to death.

Instead of floating with the tide, I sometimes felt I was trying to swim up a waterfall.

Was I wrong?

I wasn’t wrong to work hard and do my best.  But I was wrong to not let God take care of my worries.

Of course, I realize that’s easier said than done.  It’s easy to say: “Let go and let God.”

Yet I also know that letting go is the secret to a powerful life of faith in God.  Do what you can and then turn over the results to God.

George Muller is the great example of this.  He ran a group of orphanages in England for decades in the 1800s without ever appealing for funds.  He simply prayed with faith and left the results in God’s hands.  He always received enough from interested people to feed, clothe and house the orphans – and never more than was needed.

So, now I’m learning to let go – a bit at a time.  God is great.  I need to have faith in him and trust that he will do what needs to be done.  He always has.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

