Trust

Trust is at the very core of my faith in Christ.  And yet . . .

When I became a believer, I trusted what the Bible said about Jesus – that he died for me so that I might have everlasting life.

But, like many believers, I have not consistently trusted Jesus to take care of my needs.  Sometimes I do, sometimes I don’t.

I remember vividly a very small answer to prayer shortly after I became a follower of Christ.  I lost something at work and I couldn’t find it.  It was important to me that I find it.  So, I prayed that God would help me find it – I trusted simply and completely that he would.  And he did.

That little incident – not a big thing to most people – helped to build my faith and trust in God.

But what about the times when God doesn’t say “Yes” to our prayers?  Is he less trustworthy?

Any believer would answer: “No. He is always trustworthy.”

But often we don’t act as if he is.  We pray fervently for someone who is seriously ill and he dies.  Someone we love turns on us unjustly.  We begin to doubt God’s trustworthiness.  We stop praying or we stop risking our love for others.

Joseph is such a great example of a man who never stopped trusting God even though his circumstances were bleak.  Sold into slavery, he faced a calamity in his master’s house and wound up in jail.

No one could have predicted – least of all, Joseph – that the young Israelite would become the prime minister of Egypt with power over millions of people.  But God knew what was going to happen all along.  Joseph understood.  He told his frightened brothers who had sold him as a slave: “So then, it was not you who sent me here, but God.” (Genesis 45:8)

As Jerry Bridges says in his book Trusting God Even When Life Hurts, we need to remember the apostle Paul’s great statement in Romans 8:28: “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”

We have to take that on trust.  We have to believe what the Bible says about God – he is sovereign and is in control – and he’s working things out for our good.

With that in mind, I can take a longer look at the unpleasant things in my life.  I may not understand everything, but I can be sure that God is working in me to make me more like his son whom he dearly loves.  And I can react the way Paul urges me to react – with thanks.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

