Enjoying the moment

Yesterday, I went for a long walk in the warm sunshine – through a little wood and into fields stretching forever.

I looked and absorbed whatever I passed – trees, school playing fields, a little creek, a duck and eight ducklings streaking along the water in fright.

I did nothing but enjoy the moment.

Like many Christians, I feel a moment is wasted if it isn’t useful in some way.  It may only be thinking about a lesson I am learning or a lesson I am about to teach.  Or solving a persistent problem.

Frequently in the last year, I have listened to sermons on my iPod as I walk.  I enjoy those sermons – I learn from them.  And I feel as if I am doing something useful, spiritually.

There is a lot of self in me.  I want my life to matter.

But yesterday I put that aside and just enjoyed the moment.

Yet now that I have done that, I am back to wondering what I can learn from it.

One thing that occurs to me is that I must accept each moment as if it comes from God – which it does.  The psalmist said: “This is the day the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it (Psalm 118:24).”

Does that mean I am only content when the day is good – as yesterday was?  The apostle Paul talks about learning to be content in whatever circumstance he finds himself – even when he is in want (Philippians 4:11).

Another thought flows from this: I must stop worrying about what will happen or what has happened.  Paul says he forgets what is behind and strains toward the prize (Philippians 3:13).  He doesn’t dwell on what has happened – good or bad – but focuses on Christ.  When he looks forward to the prize, he is not worrying because he knows there is nothing he can do on his own – it is all Christ.

It is hard for me to surrender control.  So I spend a lot of wasted time worrying about what can and should be done.

So, I feel God is telling me to enjoy the moment.  It is a gift from him – even the not so pleasant moment.  Each moment is there for a reason – God’s reason. 

And I cling to the truth in Romans 8:28: “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

