Enjoy and remember

Yesterday was one of those ordinary days that I will treasure.

Nothing unusual happened.  I did some reading, took some friends to the airport, picked up some milk at the store, prayed and read the Bible, prepared for a lesson with our prayer group, sat outside on our balcony with my wife and enjoyed a lovely summer evening chat, and had a warm-hearted, joyful prayer time with friends in our prayer group.

But, as my wife and I drove home from our prayer group, I thought: “This is the day the Lord has made; let us rejoice and be glad in it.” (Psalm 188:24)

Why do I make such a fuss about it?  Because I so often forget what gifts God has given me.

Often I find myself complaining about my circumstances, or myself, or others.  But what about the good things that I tend to overlook?

My wife and I had a wonderful cruise to Alaska with our children, their spouses and our grandchildren in May.  We have been talking about it ever since and we have been repeating the voyage again and again as we look at the video our son and his wife made, supplemented by pictures from other family members.  It is a trip that my wife and I will always remember.

Once in a while, I remember to store away an ordinary moment that has been touched by God.  It is good to look back at these moments when going through a rough spot.

People in the Bible made a practice of looking back at major events in the lives of the people of Israel.  The patriarchs set up stone altars to commemorate great events – particularly encounters with God.  Passing these monuments, the people would remember what had happened in the past.

I think we can do the same with ordinary moments, too.  God is good.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

