Life’s gifts

My wife and I are always pleased when our grandchildren thank us for gifts we have sent them – often for some small present.

We know that their parents have prompted them to call – or write – in most cases.  But it still brings a smile to our faces.

I’m sure God feels the same way when we thank him.

Recently, I have been thinking about the gifts that come my way every day – things that I take for granted.

For example, I wake up in the morning and my wife is beside me.  We are both in good health.

I eat three meals a day – all cooked by a superb chef.  I live in a warm, comfortable home.  My wife and I have a good retirement income that provides us with all the necessities – and then some.

I live in a neighbourhood where people know each other and care for each other.  I go to a church where Jesus is proclaimed and people are learning to become more like Christ.

We have three wonderful children, all of whom follow Jesus.  They are married to spouses who  are also committed to Christ.  And they have children we adore.

Every day is a gift from God.  He has given me physical and spiritual life.  He is working in me to “will and to act according to his good purpose” (Philippians 2:13).  In other words, God is keenly interested in me – so much so that he is lovingly shaping me to be more like Jesus, difficult case that I am.

Of course, the greatest gift I have received is Jesus.  He loved me enough to make me his.  That should be enough for daily celebration.

It is good for me to think of these things – especially when I am all wrapped up in discontent and disappointment.

The apostle Paul talked about being thankful always.  I have quite a list of reasons already.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

