Is Jesus more than a friend?

For several years now, I have been preoccupied with Jesus as my friend.

He IS my friend – he tells me so in John 15.  That gives me hope, confidence and security.

But something our son said this week caused me to return to a passage in Revelation 5 that reminds me that Jesus is much more than that.  He is awesome – fall-down-on-your-face awesome.  He is God.

That passage speaks of the apostle John, caught up in a vision of heaven and weeping because no one seemed to be worthy to open a sacred scroll.  But a lamb steps forward who seems to have been killed and come back to life – Jesus.

As he takes the scroll, songs break out in heaven – songs of praise.  Elders fall on their face before him and declare that he is worthy to open the scroll because he has redeemed people with his blood.

Then, a magnificent choir of angels – many millions of them – start singing: “Worthy is the lamb who was slaughtered to receive power and riches and wisdom and strength and honour and glory and blessing.”

And, wonder upon wonder, every creature – every created being – in heaven, on earth, and in the sea join this song of praise.  What worship!

Intellectually, I know that what Jesus did on the cross was world-changing, history-making.  I am thankful to him for redeeming me.

But, it takes reading this passage to make me realize how great this act was.  The angels know.  Those who are in heaven know.

Yes, Jesus is my friend.  But he is not a cuddly toy.  He is God and he is not to be trifled with.

He is patient, but rejecting him carries a cost.

When the helpless lamb opens the scrolls, God’s judgement falls on earth and the final act in human history begins.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

