The power of speaking truth

A friend was feeling “blah” this week so I shared with him something from Neil Anderson’s Victory Over The Darkness.

Neil Anderson, a Christian counselor and former seminary professor, has helped many people deal with sins, addictions, and other problems by pointing them to who they are in Jesus Christ.

There are many Bible passages which tell believers who they are in God’s eyes.  In his book, Anderson lists some of them under the general titles of “I am accepted”, “I am secure”, and “I am significant”.  After each scripture verse he adds a statement such as “I am God’s child” (for John 1:12).

He urges readers to read through the scripture passages and let these statements sink into their minds and hearts.

I read these statements a few years ago and felt uplifted right away.  Every time I have read them since, I have felt the same way.

Why? Because they are truth if you are a believer in Jesus Christ.  As you let your mind explore the truth in these words, your eyes are opened to how much loved and cherished you are by God.

This week, the following words in Hebrews 2:11 hit me right between the eyes:

“So now Jesus and the ones he makes holy have the same Father.  That is why Jesus is not ashamed to call them his brothers and sisters.” (NLT)

It struck me with great force: “Jesus is my brother.”  Wow!  For me, this was a big moment.  I pictured Jesus as my elder brother, looking out for me and cherishing me.  I saw him as one I want to emulate as a younger son looks up to his older brother.

Of course, I know the difference between Jesus and me.  He is God and I am not.  But that doesn’t stop the Father from making me just like a brother in spirit to Christ Jesus.

As you stop and meditate on all these great Biblical statements about our relationship to God and his plans for us, you can’t help but be joyful.

For believers, this is not the “power of positive thinking”.  For us, we know it is truth.

We need to speak it out as Anderson says.  Then, the power of speaking truth can change the way we see ourselves and our relationship with God.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

