Face-to-face with God

Some day, believers will talk face-to-face with God.

What will that be like?

For some, that may be a frightening thought.  We may think we are unworthy and God will talk about our flaws.

But that’s not the picture I get from Revelation 21 and 22.

After the new Jerusalem descends from God, a voice from the throne of God tells the apostle John in Revelation 21:3 that “God’s home is now with his people! He will live with them and they will be his people.”

But, rather than describing an angry God, the voice declares: “He will wipe every tear from their eyes and there will be no more death or sorrow or crying or pain.  All these things are gone forever.”

Why is God so kind to us when we let him down so much?

Because we were never worthy of God in the first place.  That is the gospel.  Christ died for our sins so that we might have everlasting life.

It has taken me decades of living as a Christian to accept that Jesus died not only for my past sins, but also for my present and future sins.  God forgives me for all my sins because of what Jesus did.

I don’t have to spend all my time hanging my head because I am imperfect.  I will never be perfect.

The apostle Paul tells me in Galatians 2:20 that I must grasp the truth that I gave up my old life when I put my faith in Jesus.  Now, Jesus lives within me and I must simply let him live his life through me.

I am still trying to live that out in practical terms.  It’s so easy to fall back into old ways.

But, no matter how good I am or how imperfect, God will still love me because of Jesus.

So, now I look forward to seeing him face-to-face.

 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

