Otherworldly?

As a young Christian, I remember hearing the saying: “Don’t be so heavenly-minded that you’re no earthly good.”

In a sense, it was good advice.  A Christian’s faith should not be hidden away but should be active in the world around us.

But, for me, the danger was more that I was attached so much to the world around me that I didn’t think about my ultimate destination – being with God forever.

It is quite natural – and right – for a young man to think about earning money for his family.  And so I was wrapped up in my job and my ambitions.

I didn’t turn away from God.  Ever since I put my faith in Christ, I have had a desire to know him better.  I was active in my church and tried to lead my family spiritually.

But now, as an older man, I have been thinking more about where I am going.   And I am realizing that Christ and the early Christians had a different way of looking at life than I have had.

The writer of Hebrews in chapter 11 talks about Abraham living in the promised land “like a stranger in a foreign country”.  And the apostle Peter says in 1 Peter 2:11 that we believers are “aliens and strangers in the world”.

In 2 Corinthians 5, Paul says he “would prefer to be away from the body and at home with the Lord”.  And he makes the point that his aim is always to please God.  That’s because his eyes are fixed on Jesus.

It’s not that the good things of this world are to be rejected.  Work, family, friends, church, games – all these things are wonderful.

God has given me many good things to enjoy in this world.  He wants me to enjoy them.

Yet, at the same time, I am easily drawn into the everyday struggles and temptations of life as if they are what matter more than anything else.

As long as I am here, I will always be involved and interested in what goes on around me.

But I need to look at the world through the eyes of heaven.  What will really matter when I see Jesus?

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

