When I am weak

Most people despise weakness. Maybe they’re wrong.

The apostle Paul, one of the greatest men in history, said: “When I am weak, then I am strong.” (2 Corinthians 12:10)

He was talking about an affliction that he couldn’t get rid of. He said God told him that God’s grace was enough for him – he needed nothing more. God said that his (God’s) strength “was made perfect in weakness”.

In effect, God was telling Paul that he had to rely on God to take him through whatever problem he had. God was his strength.

I challenge anyone to say he has no weaknesses. The only man who had no weaknesses was Jesus.

I admit that I have not taken on some tasks because I did not believe I had the moral or spiritual strength to carry them out well. I was afraid of my weaknesses.

But I now see that is a wrong reason to avoid something God may be calling me to do. If he wants me to do it, he will give me the strength to do it.

Paul boasted of his weakness because he understood his real relationship with God. He depended completely on God to take him on his historic mission trips which spread the good news of Christ into Europe.

Men, in particular, are afraid to admit weakness. We want to appear competent and strong, able to do all things for our families.

But dependence – not independence – is the very foundation of our faith.

Mankind fell when Adam and Eve felt they could be independent of God – becoming like God in understanding.

King David was a great warrior who still had personal weaknesses and admitted them. Psalm 51 is a great confession of his sins to God after seducing Bathsheba and having her husband Uriah killed.

In Psalm 18, David says: “I love you, O Lord, my strength. The Lord is my rock, my fortress and my deliverer; my God is my rock in whom I take refuge.”

David certainly knew the source of his strength, the spiritual strength that enabled him to carry out God’s plans for Israel.

Rather than obsessing about our weaknesses, we need to turn to God to supply the strength we do not have.

1 comment so far

  1. Judy S. on

    AMEN!


Leave a Reply

