As for me and my house

My wife and I attended a funeral last weekend and heard the dead man’s children speak about their father.

What stood out for me were the family touches – and the references to his faith.

My career mattered a lot to me. There is nothing wrong with that. But, what is left when careers end?

Christ is what matters. And God created us to have relationships with others. Families built on Jesus and his love are strong.

It would be great to say that all Christian marriages are strong. But that would be wrong. I have read that the divorce rate among Christians is as high as it is among non-Christians.

Even the most solid Christian marriage faces trials. We are human. We are self-centred. But we are called as believers to look away from ourselves to Jesus.

I find it hard to admit I’m wrong. I am defensive. But God has opened my eyes to some of my mistakes and he has graciously nudged me in new directions during my marriage.

In fact, I believe my wife and I have both changed as the years floated by. We are closer to being one today than we were when we were first married – although, we are different in personality.

For me, the scriptures lay down a clear path for a thriving marriage and family.

Jesus says that when a man marries a woman, they are to become one (Matthew 19:4-6). Certainly, there is sexual union. But there is also union in spirit – a coming together in mind and spirit. I believe this is a gradual process – and happens best when Jesus is central to family life.

The rule for a good marriage is the same for a married couple as it is for singles – as the apostle Paul says: “For me, to live is Christ.” It is easier to say than do. It means giving up my personal desires so that Christ’s desires will become mine. It is something I am still learning.

As noted author and speaker Francis Chan has said, we are to find our ultimate satisfaction in Jesus – not loading onto our mates our own expectations.

A marriage that is centred on Jesus can have a considerable influence on the couple’s children. That kind of family can truly say what Joshua said many centuries ago:

“As for me and my family, we will serve the Lord.” (Joshua 24:15)

2 comments so far

  1. Andrew Douglas on

    So true Dad. That is a great word.


Leave a Reply

