God is good

I believe God is good. Does that matter?

I am convinced that my faith in God’s goodness will guide my response to life. I will see God working in the tough times just as much as in the good times.

I have been reminded of this truth recently as I have had to deal with some people issues in my life.

My tendency when people problems crop up is to try frantically to find a solution that satisfies everyone. But sometimes that isn’t possible.

Am I to blame God when things don’t turn out the way I hoped they would?

Clearly, the answer is “No.” God is always good and he does not wish to buffet me with bad things.

But, if I am knee-deep in trouble, what reason do I have to believe God is good?

I can begin with Christ’s death for me on the cross – and on his glorious resurrection. When someone goes so far as to die in your place, you know he loves you and wants the best for you.

Then, I can believe what the Bible says about God. In Psalm 103, King David writes that God is “compassionate, slow to anger, and abounding in love”.

Jesus is the perfect example of this compassion and love. His heart went out to suffering people and he healed them and offered them hope.

I also can put my faith in the fact that God has a plan for me – a plan for my good.

For instance, there is God’s great promise in Jeremiah 29:11: “For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

Along with this are the apostle Paul’s words in Romans 8:28: “And we know that in all things God works for the good of those who love him, who have been called according to his purpose.”

We can rejoice that we have been called according to the purposes God has given us. We have been given the honour of being specially chosen by God to serve him for his glory and the advancement of his kingdom.

Paul was a living example of this. He suffered greatly, but his words rang out with praise for the Lord, even when he was in prison.

He knew he would have an eternity of bliss with Jesus. We do, too.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

