Spirit to Spirit

I am so glad that the Holy Spirit is constantly praying for me.

All I need to do is get out of the way. I am starting to do that.

The apostle Paul says in Romans 8:26-27:

“In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us with groans that words cannot express. And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for the saints in accordance with God’s will.”

By yielding myself to the Spirit, I gain greater trust and hope, knowing that he is praying for me according to the will of God.

There have been a lot of times when I did not know what to pray. Recently, this has been particularly true.

In essence, I am surrendering to what God wants when I hand over myself to the Spirit. I am saying: “I don’t know what to do, but I know your will is best.”

I picture the Holy Spirit within me praying to the Father. And I imagine Jesus with me. I know he is because he promised in scripture that he would be with all believers always.

I know that God is speaking to me in response to the Spirit’s prayers.

Of course, Paul was acutely aware of the Spirit – and dependent on the Spirit.

In Acts 16, he and Silas and their companions were in Galatia (now modern-day Turkey) preaching Jesus Christ. They tried to go further into Asia “but the Spirit of Jesus would not allow them to”. Instead, God gave Paul a vision of a man beckoning to him from Macedonia – in Greece on the European continent.

Paul obeyed and went to Greece, introducing the good news of Jesus to Europeans for the first time. It was a breakthrough with historic results.

Occasionally, I come to the point where I have prayed as well as I can with my mind and I run up against a brick wall. I seem to be getting nowhere.

Then, I do what I should have done all along – I yield to the Holy Spirit who is praying within me. He knows better how to pray. I trust him to express my needs better than I can.

Paul tells us that he prays with his mind and with the Spirit (1 Corinthians 14).

I should do the same.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

