I love naps

“I love naps!”

I laughed when I read the words on a tee-shirt my wife has just given me. She knows me too well.

I do love naps. My eyes start closing in the early afternoon. A nap refreshes and gives me new energy for the rest of the day and evening.

The same refreshment comes when we deliberately stop our busy days to spend time resting in the Lord.

In his fine book The Divine Invitation, Steve McVey notes that Jesus felt rest was important. After his disciples returned from a ministry trip, they told Jesus all the exciting things that had happened (Mark 6:30).

Instead of urging them to go out again and keep the momentum going, Jesus said: “Let’s go off by ourselves to a quiet place and rest awhile.”

“For many, it’s easier to be busy with activity than to patiently wait on the Lord in solitude,” McVey says.

I am guilty of impatience. I can’t wait to get at something that I feel is important. Sometimes, I feel that my project or idea will fail if I don’t do something about it right away.

My problem, clearly, is that I am not giving my concerns into God’s hands and relying on him to get the job done. Perhaps my project isn’t as important as I think it is. Perhaps rushing into it would be worse than letting it die.

In Psalm 46:10, God says: “Be still and know that I am God.”

I like those words because they remind me that I need to worship God more than anything else. I need to stop and realize that God is present – he is with me at this very moment.

Knowing God is here should help me see things in perspective. Is anything too difficult for God? And what matters more than adoring the Lord and enjoying him?

So, yes, I love naps. But even more, I need to rest in the Lord.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

