Change

My wife, my sister, her husband and I reminisced a bit while they were visiting us a few days ago.

We talked about the very different world we lived in during the 1940s and 1950s – a world without Facebook and Twitter.

I realize that change in technology and lifestyle can have a powerful impact on us.

They can bring good things, making our lives easier to live. But they can create stresses, too, as people struggle to adapt, lose jobs, or find life increasingly impersonal.

But some things never change. People still love and hate; they are generous or stingy; they are self-sacrificing or selfish.

And God is still God – the same yesterday, today and forever.

When I look at the world around me, I remind myself that the changes in technology and society are less important than the fact that God is working out his plan on a grand scale.

That gives me hope.

When I look back, I am astonished at how much the world has changed in my lifetime. The Second World War introduced the atomic bomb, increasing the threat of global disaster. Empires have virtually dissolved; there have been terrible famines and wars; and the Internet has created an instant world open to everyone on our globe.

Yet God has not left us without his presence.

The message of Christ has spread like wildfire in Asia, Africa and South America. His love is winning hearts around the world. God is changing lives.

Ultimately, the end is already decided – God will enforce his victory over Satan, the victory Christ won on the cross.

In the meantime, God is working things out for the good of those who trust him and love him. That includes me even though things sometimes look grim when I look around. He sees the future and I don’t.

So, I praise God that he is unchanging and his plan is good. He will do what he says he will do.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

