Captive to my computer

I admit it – I’m a captive to my computer.

And it may be pulling me away from what God wants for me.

This thought stuck in my mind as I talked with some friends about the book Crazy Busy by Kevin DeYoung. Our church’s men’s group is studying this book about the impact of our overly-busy modern lives on relationships with God and people. The author is a successful and frenetically busy pastor, writer and father.

Speaking of the tyranny of digital toys, DeYoung writes:

“We are always engaged with our thumbs, but rarely engaged with our thoughts. We keep downloading information, but rarely get down into the depths of our hearts.”

He says his wife rebuked him a while ago for texting at the dinner table.

In essence, DeYoung says, we have “a desire to never be alone”. Checking Facebook and our e-mail is one way of keeping ourselves occupied – particularly our minds.

DeYoung confesses he finds himself constantly wanting to check his e-mail every few minutes.

I have the same disease. The computer was a great help for me in the final years of my career. But, now that I am retired, I find that I waste a lot of time trying to get minute-by-minute updates on sports, politics, religion and my e-mail.

But is the problem the computer? Or, is it me?

The computer can be a great benefit. It gives me access to information I could not hope to collect on my own decades ago. It enables me to reach people I need to reach almost instantly.

But am I missing more important things by compulsively seeking to be up-to-date every minute on everything?

When I fill my days with the Internet, do I have time to hear what God is telling me? Am I aware of what is going on around in me in my own small world?

Most of all, who am I worshiping – God or my computer?

I am reminded of King David’s wonderful words in Psalm 27:4:

“One thing I ask of the Lord, this is what I seek: that I may dwell in the House of the Lord all the days of my life, to gaze upon the beauty of the Lord and to seek him in his temple.”

I can’t gaze upon God and seek him if I am dashing here and there on my computer.

2 comments so far

  1. Judy Starr on

    What a wonderful truth Bob  I, who used to forbid phones at the table or during family time…..now rarely have my phone away from me. Sigh.

    I am wondering if i might borrow this book at some point. We have our studies lined up until end of January but i am wondering if this is something we ladies might also enjoy?

    See you soon. Happy day! Judy

    Sent from Samsung Mobile

  2. Robert Douglas on

    It’s a good book, raising some thought-provoking questions. I have a Kindle version, but I know one of the members of the men’s group would be glad to lend his copy to you. Thanks for your comment.


Leave a Reply

