Through God’s eyes

What would my life look like if I were peering at me through God’s eyes?

Different, I’m sure.  I would be able to see what is coming down the road – good things and bad things.

I would see, as well, how I fit into God’s greater plan – my little part of his plan.  I would also see that the end of it all is wonderful, beautiful – enough to draw adoring praise from my lips.

Even with my own eyes, I can see that heartaches years ago have helped mould me into a different man – even, I will say, a wiser man.

I find it easy to get caught up in the current problems and troubles and to forget that God sees things that I don’t and knows more than I will ever know.

I’m like the man who pushed the brand new car because he thought that was the way it worked.  All he needed to do was get inside and start the engine and the car would carry him to where he wanted to go.

I need God’s insights just like that man needed the car instructions.

I am constantly drawn to the apostle Paul and the way he confronted trouble.

When he was in prison in Rome, he wrote that some Christians were preaching Christ out of envy and selfish ambition, hoping to get him into trouble. But he rejoiced because “the important thing is that in every way, whether from false motives or true, Christ is preached.” (Philippians 1:18)

Paul understood what God was doing.  And he could rest in the knowledge that God was indeed working things out for good (Romans 8:28).

In Philippians 4:11, he writes that “I have learned to be content whatever the circumstances.”

“I have learned the secret of being content in any and every situation, whether well fed or hungry, whether living in plenty or in want.”

In the same letter, he tells the Philippians: “Rejoice in the Lord always.  I will say it again: Rejoice!”

To me, he is saying I should trust that God knows what he is doing and take pleasure in him above all.  I should be happy because God is doing good things in me – and even through me.

Indeed, trusting that God knows what he is doing is all that I need to find the contentment and peace that Paul knew.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

