Draw near

Drawing near to God is both dangerous and life-changing.

The evil one and his followers run from our holy God.  But those who want to know him are changed forever as they come close to him – and obey.

To be honest, there is a little of me in both camps.  My heart wants to know him as Moses did, but part of me is afraid of what that means – total commitment.

I am not into New Year’s resolutions.  But, if I were, I can’t think of a better resolution for me: Draw closer to God!

Moses is a good example of what happens when you draw near to God.  Images of Moses at the burning bush and receiving the 10 commandments on Mount Sinai pop into my mind.

When God spoke from the burning bush in Exodus 3, Moses covered his face because he was afraid to look at God – he was on holy ground.  He initially offered various excuses for not obeying God’s command to speak to Pharaoh.  But eventually he ran out of excuses and obeyed.

I sympathize with Moses.  I feel inadequate, too.

But, by the time Moses spoke with God on Mount Sinai, he was a different man.  He had obeyed God and the Lord brought him through some tough and dangerous times.

In Exodus 34, we read that Moses’ face was radiant when he came down from the mountain with the stone tablets containing the 10 commandments.  He had met God and the experience was transforming.

The great promise in James 4:8 is that God will draw near to us when we draw near to him.  We will experience God in a deeper way.  We will be changed.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

