Let God lead

In my heart, I think I’m indispensable.  In my head, I know I’m not.

I am learning – reluctantly – that God can get his business done without me.  Yet, I am also learning that he wants me around, doing what he is asking me to do.

Sometimes, I get wound up in a particular ministry – prayer is something I am particularly keen about.  Once in a while, I get so passionate that I am frustrated when others don’t see things the way I see them.

When I ask God about this, I feel he is responding that other believers are his children, too.  They have their gifts, their talents.  And he cautions me, lovingly, that world history – and my little world, too – is in his hands.

The other day, I was talking with a friend who is going through a deep bout of depression.  I found myself sharing this little poem written more than a century ago by a young woman in Britain on the eve of New Year:

And I said to the man who stood at the gate of the year: “Give me a light that I may tread safely into the unknown.”
And he replied:
“Go out into the darkness and put your hand into the Hand of God. That shall be to you better than light and safer than a known way.”

The poem, written by Minnie Louise Haskins, was quoted by Britain’s King George VI during the Second World War and inspired a nation.  The message: Put your future in the hand of God.

That poem could well have been written for me.  I want to know what the future holds.  I want to know that things will turn out the way I want them to.

But, God knows things I don’t.  I go back often to God’s words in Isaiah 55:8-9:

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways,”  declares the Lord.
“As the heavens are higher than the earth,  so are my ways higher than your ways and my thoughts than your thoughts.”

The key, it seems to me, is that my job is not to lead God, but to let God lead me.  That means I must trust him and leave the results to him.

Slowly, I am learning.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

