Blessing – not cursing

God asks a lot of us in our relations with others – sometimes, it seems too much.

But, the hardest path is often the best for us.

I have been thinking about this as I consider broken relations within the Christian community.  I have been part of some of these regrettable breakdowns in my life.

When I have been hurt, my tendency is to crawl back into my shell like a turtle, nursing my bitterness and damaged feelings.  Others blow off steam and stamp away.

Neither attitude is good for us in the long term.  We cannot hold onto our anger and bitterness.

The way of the Lord is forgiveness and blessing.

I agree with those who say we cannot forget the hurts we received.  But we can release them.

I have written about forgiveness before.  I have in recent years realized that I must forgive several people who attacked me verbally at different points in my life.  The Lord commands it and it is freeing.

Yet, I also see that the ultimate step is blessing those who have stung me with their comments or actions.

I was thinking about this as I was reading the apostle Paul’s words in Romans 12:14 this week: “Bless those who persecute you.  Don’t curse them; pray that God will bless them.”

There is great power in blessing.  As I pray a blessing on someone, I begin to see them as God sees them.  We are all damaged people, but God wants to heal and restore.  He loves my brother in Christ as much as he does me.

There is a sense, too, that blessing builds up while cursing tears down.  It may be that the root of the other person’s anger will be removed by a blessing.

Others have pointed out that blessing and cursing have an impact in the spiritual realm.  Critical words act like spiritual curses.

So, I am beginning to bless others in my prayer time whether I am angry with them or not.  I believe God is pleased.  He wants to bless his loved ones.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

