You hurt me? I’ll bless you!

One of the toughest demands made of Christians is to bless those who hurt us.

As one little boy told Alan Wright’s son: “It’s stupid!”  At least it is stupid in any normal human being’s eyes.

But Jesus told us: “Love your enemies, do good to those who hate you, bless those who curse you, pray for those who mistreat you.”  (Luke 6:27-28)

That’s virtually impossible to carry out on our own strength as Alan Wright, pastor of Reynolda Presbyterian Church in Winston-Salem, North Carolina, noted in a recent sermon. We need God’s help.

Blessing someone who curses you means taking a step beyond forgiveness.  It is the ultimate in forgiveness.

In essence, blessing means asking God to do good to someone else – in this case, the person who has attacked us.

As I have mentioned before, I realized some years ago that I had not forgiven some people who had hurt me many years before. I took the step of writing my forgiveness on a piece of paper and then destroying it to indicate I no longer held their actions against them.

But blessing them means I must ask God to forgive them. In other words, I cannot hold in the back of my mind the hope that God will give them their just deserts.

I have taken that step.

Yet, I admit it is easier for me to do that today than it would have been when the wounds were fresh.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

