Handling disappointment

Disappointment in love, career, and family are part of all our lives.

They can mark us for life and sometimes destroy lives.

At different points in my life, I have struggled with disappointments and sometimes done a poor job of dealing with them.

So, how do we believers handle these things?

Several thoughts come to my mind about how I should face disappointments:

  • Take the long view:  God may have something in store for me which will change my opinion of this setback;
  • Fix my eyes on Jesus:  Jesus has a compassionate heart and is ready to carry me through the dark period; and
  • Trust God no matter what: I must depend on God and his ultimate plan even if I do not get what I desire in this life.

The wonderful story of Joseph, son of Jacob in the Old Testament, is an example of taking the long view and trusting in God.

Joseph had a roller-coaster life.  He began as the spoiled youngest child of Jacob; was thrown into a pit and sold into slavery by his brothers; became a favourite slave of his new Egyptian master; was thrown into prison after refusing to succumb to the sexual advances of his master’s wife; interpreted the dreams of Pharaoh and became the highest official in the land; and finally saved Jacob and his brothers from starvation by forgiving them and bringing them into Egypt.

Joseph saw the hand of God in his life.  He told his brothers: “It was God who sent me here ahead of you to preserve your lives.”

The writer of Hebrews urges us to fix our eyes on Jesus as we face trials in our lives.

“Consider him who endured such opposition from sinners, so that you will not grow weary and lose heart,” he writes in Hebrews 12:2.

With examples like that, I can surely hang on when I face disappointments.

I also take comfort in the words of David in Psalm 30:5: “Weeping may last through the night, but joy comes with the morning.”

No disappointment or suffering is greater than God and his goodness.

We are assured of joy with him throughout eternity.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

