Who’s in control?

Like many Christian conservatives, I was disappointed with the Canadian federal election results.

But I am not bitter or alarmed.

While the previous government was far from perfect, it did stand for fiscal prudence and a foreign policy that I supported. Many government members also held pro-life views although the government believed members should vote their conscience on social matters.  Personally, I agree that is the best way in a democracy.

The good thing is that Canadians live in a democracy and we are still free to express our opinions.  And, by law, no government can remain in power for longer than four years without seeking re-election.

So how should I respond to this new government with its new policies?

Like many Christian leaders, I believe we ought to pray for our government, no matter what party is in power (1 Timothy 2:1-2).  I can pray that God will guide the decisions of our leaders and that they will make righteous choices.  I can pray that the leaders will live lives of integrity.

But most of all, I must remember that underlying everything are the everlasting arms of God.  God holds all things together and is working things out according to his will over time.

That doesn’t mean that things are necessarily going to go the way I like.  It doesn’t mean there won’t be trouble.

Canada remains an oasis in the world no matter what government is in power.  Most Canadians are free to do what they wish within the bounds of the law.  On the whole, Canadians are prosperous compared to people in other parts of the world.

I acknowledge this.  But at the same time, I am not blind.  Christian values and the Christian faith have a declining influence on the Western world.  Many non-Christians regard us with suspicion and sometimes hostility.  We may be partly responsible for this as many of us have lived a life apart from the rest of society.

For Christians, this is an opportunity to pray that Christ’s love will permeate our society and bring many more into the kingdom of God.  That may bring transformation – spiritual and social revival – in Canada over time.  And it may not.

I recall that it took 400 years of prayer by the Israelite slaves before God raised up Moses to lead them out of captivity.  Why did God not answer sooner?  I don’t know.  But his timing is always right.

For me, the lesson of Bible history is that God is working things out no matter what I see with my human eyes.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

