Unbreakable love

A friend is plagued with night-time fears that he may not go to heaven to be with God.

He assured me that he believes Jesus died for him on the cross – taking his sins upon himself – so that my friend could enter the family of God.  He has put his faith in Christ.

But, in the darkness at night, he is filled with doubts.

I took him to the great passage in Romans 8 where the apostle Paul talks about the unbreakable love of God.  I turn to it often myself.

Paul begins that passage with these words in verse 1: Therefore, there is now no condemnation for those who are in Christ Jesus, because through Christ Jesus the law of the Spirit who gives life has set you free from the law of sin and death.”

In other words, once you have put your faith in Christ, you are “in Christ Jesus”.  You are free from condemnation for your sins because Christ has taken the consequences of your sin on himself.

I told my friend that Satan’s specialty is to sow doubts in our minds.  When my friend tosses in his bed at night, it is Satan who is whispering to him that he is not worthy of being with God when he dies.

Then, I read to my friend the wonderful words of Romans 8:31-39.

“If God is for us, who can be against us?” asks Paul.

He adds: “Who will bring any charge against those whom God has chosen?  It is God who justifies.”

In other words, you may feel you are not good enough, but you’re not the judge.  It is God who judges.  And he has looked at what Jesus has done for you and determined that covers the penalty for all the sins you have ever committed.  You are free of condemnation.

Paul finishes with these words that ring like a hammer pounding a gong:

For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.”

Wow!  Those words thrill my heart every time I read them.

No one can break God’s love for his children.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

