Child of the king

God is my king and I am his child.

Like any prince, I have great privileges.  But I also have great responsibilities.

I am gradually learning what this means.

More than 55 years ago, I became part of God’s family, accepting the gift of everlasting life from Jesus.

The apostle John, a close friend and follower of Jesus, put it this way in John 1:12:

“Yet to all who received him [Jesus], to those who believed in his name, he gave the right to become children of God.”

Christ’s death on the cross and triumphant resurrection from the dead was an enormous gift to me and to all believers.

But many Christians stop right there.  They have received a ticket to heaven – a new birth – and they see no reason to grow.

Many others feel a nagging guilt that they should live out their faith.   But, they act as if they are unsure the gift they have received is really good news.

Alec Rowlands, author of The Presence: Experiencing More of God, thinks the problem is that many Christians have an intellectual knowledge of God but not an intimate relationship.  They lack the close and loving relationship that a child has with his father.

I agree with Rowlands.  Through much of my life, I have failed to understand how much God loves me and how much he loves to give me good things (James 1:17).

In recent years, I have begun to see God better.  He is teaching me how privileged I am as a child of the king.

But, just as princes have great responsibilities, so I have responsibilities as a child of God.

Just before ascending to heaven, Jesus told his followers that “all authority in heaven and on earth has been given to me”.  He then commissioned them to “make disciples of all nations”.

Clearly, Jesus wanted his disciples to actively live out their faith.  He didn’t want them to vegetate.

To live out my faith effectively, I must have a close relationship with my Father, the king.

He is the one sending me.  I need to follow his directions.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

