Peace in his presence

I was feeling tired and worried, struggling with minor things when I went to a prayer gathering this week.

Two hours later, I left feeling refreshed and full of energy.

Once again, I learned that in God’s presence, there is peace.

This morning, I talked with a friend who is depressed by a long illness and who wonders why God is not healing him.  In his mind, he wonders whether God is upset with him.

So I read to him one of my favourite Bible passages – Zephaniah 3:17 – where the prophet writes:

For the Lord your God is living among you. He is a mighty savior. He will take delight in you with gladness. With his love, he will calm all your fears. He will rejoice over you with joyful songs.

I turn to this passage and picture myself as a child in the arms of God, listening to him as he calms me and rejoices over me with singing.

This teaches me that there is no problem too great for God.  And that he loves me, no matter what I do.

I just need to enter his presence and spend time worshiping him and resting in his love.

Later today, I read the well-known words in Proverbs 3:5-6: “Trust in the Lord with all your heart; do not depend on your own understanding. Seek his will in all you do, and he will show you which path to take.”

I can testify that this is true.  When I do yield to the Holy Spirit, he gives me the guidance I need in the small issues of my life – issues which seem big but are not.

I am just slow to turn to him.

Yes, listening to God brings me peace. 

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

