Battle for our minds

My mind is a spiritual battlefield.

I’m learning that my key weapon is surrender – to God.  And that is a battle in itself.

I have spent a lifetime letting my emotions, my desires, and Satan win many daily skirmishes over my better inclinations.

Ken Sande, author and Christian counsellor, said something at a conference a couple of years ago that caught my attention: The emotional part of our brains react well before the rational part.  So, too often, we allow our emotions to guide our decisions.

In Mark 7:20-22, Jesus said:

It is what comes from inside that defiles you. For from within, out of a person’s heart, come evil thoughts, sexual immorality, theft, murder, adultery, greed, wickedness, deceit, lustful desires, envy, slander, pride, and foolishness.”

Our emotions and desires are often successful in governing our thoughts.  So, how do I deal with this?

Watchman Nee, a great Chinese Christian of the last century, says a beginning step is to admit I can’t win this battle on my own.

In his fine book The Life that Wins, Nee writes that I must confess to God that I can’t even will to fight wrong desires and thoughts by my own strength.  It has to be God who battles for me.

Nee says that the apostle Paul gives us the key in Galatians 2:20: “I have been crucified with Christ and I no longer live, but Christ lives in me. The life I now live in the body, I live by faith in the Son of God, who loved me and gave himself for me.”

In other words, Christ has replaced my old spirit with his because my old self is dead as a result of believing in the crucified and resurrected Christ.  I just have to believe it and behave as if this is true – an act of faith.

Nee gives the illustration of a man climbing down a dry well with the help of a rope.  Suddenly, he reaches the end of the rope, but he hasn’t touched ground.  He is too tired to climb up so he prays to God and prepares for death from a steep fall.  He lets go and touches ground three inches below.

That, says Nee, is yielding and letting go.  We have to trust God that he will take over when we stop trying to do everything ourselves.

I believe in God through faith.  I am also called to live my life through faith in our Lord.

2 comments so far

  1. Judy on

    Another excellent, and very relevant post, Bob. I remember Billy graham speaking about “The Battle of the Mind,” many years ago, and nothing has changed has it……because Satan is more motivated than ever, in this crazy world we live in, to see people be tempted and to turn away from God. Thanks for this reminder. Judy

  2. Robert Douglas on

    Thanks, Judy.


Leave a Reply

