Doubts about God’s love

If you’re like me, sometimes you feel God must be really disgusted with you and can’t love you.

Why is that?

I think it’s because of a lack of faith.  It means that we don’t believe what the Bible says.

There are times when I feel I have failed God once again and I get discouraged.  I can’t imagine ever pleasing God.

What’s wrong with this picture?

Part of the problem is that I have fallen into the trap of believing that I must please God by being perfect in every way.  And if I’m not perfect, he will shake his head, frown, and maybe even turn away from me.

But the apostle Paul tells me in Romans 8 that I cannot be condemned because I have put my faith in Jesus’ death and resurrection, destroying the barrier of sin between me and God.

He then writes these great words in verse 31: “What shall we say about such wonderful things as these? If God is for us, who can ever be against us?”

And he goes on to say in verse 38:

“And I am convinced that nothing can ever separate us from God’s love. Neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither our fears for today nor our worries about tomorrow—not even the powers of hell can separate us from God’s love.”

It is satan’s job to discourage us.  He is out to whisper doubts in our ears – to be the voice of condemnation.

The Bible says God knows I am weak.  He knows that I can’t do anything by myself to make myself worthy of him.  Only the Spirit of God within me can enable me to become more like Jesus.

When I became a believer, I did not become perfect.  I merely started on a journey – with some ups and downs – to become more like the Lord.

In Psalm 103, David says:

“He does not punish us for all our sins; he does not deal harshly with us, as we deserve. For his unfailing love toward those who fear him is as great as the height of the heavens above the earth.”

When I think about God, I often forget that his love is infinitely greater than human love.

When the Father looks at me, he sees me through the filter of Jesus who died for me.  I am wrapped into the greatest love in eternity – the love of the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit for each other.

I need to ponder this great truth and let it sink into my being.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

