Who are you?

Who are you?  For Christians, that’s a big question.

It’s more than your role in your family, workplace, school, or leisure activities.

It’s about your relationship to God.

Most believers would say that they have put their faith in Christ and know that, someday, they will be with God in heaven.  But, like me for many decades, they would believe they must live perfect lives to please God.

Although most would deny this, it’s almost as if we have to earn our way into heaven even though the scriptures say the only requirement for becoming a child of God is believing that Jesus paid for our sins and mistakes on the cross.

For most of us, this belief that, somehow, we have to work our way into God’s good graces can be discouraging and negatively affect our daily lives as followers of Jesus.

A friend in our church touched on this in a sermon last Sunday as he talked about our “identity in Christ”. He painted a much more positive picture of our relationship with God, noting that we are already “saints” in the eyes of the Lord.

His sermon happened to come at a time when I was renewing my resolve to regularly go over Neil Anderson’s list of scriptures under the title “Who I Am In Christ” in his book Victory Over The Darkness (pp. 38-39).

Anderson has used these scriptures in his years as a Christian counsellor, dealing with people who have fears or struggles with sin.  And his clients have found them freeing and motivating to become more like Jesus.

“As believers, we are not trying to become saints,” says Anderson. “We are saints who are becoming like Christ.”

That does not deny that Christians sin.  But it does change how we view God and the resources he has given us to live for him.

My natural tendency is to focus on what I have done wrong.  I am easily tempted to feel God is especially displeased with me.

Anderson’s list brings my focus back to God and his great love for me. It makes me glad and inspires me to worship him.

His list is too long to go through in a blog post.  So, I will simply share a few, listing Anderson’s brief summary “Who I Am In Christ” with the scripture in brackets:

  • “I am God’s child” (John 1:12);
  • “I am united with the Lord and I am one spirit with him” (1 Corinthians 6:7);
  • “I have been redeemed and forgiven of all my sins” (Colossians 1:14)
  • “I have direct access to God through the Holy Spirit” (Ephesians 2:18)
  • “I am free from condemnation” (Romans 8:1,2)
  • “I am assured that all things work together for good” (Romans 8:28)
  • “I am confident that the good work that God has begun in me will be perfected” (Philippians 1:6)
  • “I am a citizen of heaven” (Philippians 3:20)
  • “I have not been given a spirit of fear, but of power, love and a sound mind” (2 Timothy 1:7)
  • “I am the salt and the light of the earth” (Matthew 5:13-14)
  • “I am a branch of the true vine, a channel of his life” (John 15:1,5)
  • “I am God’s co-worker” (2 Corinthians 6:1)

The apostle Paul calls us to meditate on what is good, lovely and true (Philippians 4:8).

I can think of no better way to meditate than on what God has given us through Jesus.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

